

MINUTES OF CITY OF CREEDMOOR PLANNING BOARD MEETING JUNE 10, 2021 7 P.M.

Present in Person at City Hall Boardroom

Chair Ed Gleason, Vice-Chair Steve Faucette, Mike Allen, Robert Gorham, Dennis Lester, Jonelle Berky Marable, and Debbie Rogers. Also present were Community Development Director Michael Frangos and City Clerk/PIO Terry Hobgood.

Present via Zoom Video Conference

Heather Turner and City Attorney Kevin Hornik.

Absent

None

Call to Order

Chair Ed Gleason called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Roll call by the City Clerk determined that a quorum was present.

Approval of Agenda

Debbie Rogers moved to approve the agenda as presented; seconded by Steve Faucette. The motion was approved by roll call vote 8-0.

Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Ed Gleason: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: Yes

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

Approval of Minutes

Mike Allen moved to approve the May 13, 2021 meeting minutes as presented; seconded by Steve Faucette. The motion was approved by roll call vote 8-0.

Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Ed Gleason: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: Yes

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

Comments from the Public

With no one coming forward to speak, Chair Ed Gleason closed the Public Comment period.

Election of Planning Board Chair

Mike Allen nominated Ed Gleason as Planning Board Chair; seconded by Steve Faucette.

With no other nominations forthcoming, Mike Allen moved to close nominations; seconded by Dennis Lester. The motion was approved by roll call vote 8-0.

Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Ed Gleason: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: Yes

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

Mike Allen moved to reappoint Ed Gleason to serve as Planning Board Chair through June 30, 2022; seconded by Steve Faucette. The motion was approved by roll call vote 8-0.

Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Ed Gleason: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: Yes

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

Election of Planning Board Vice-Chair

Dennis Lester nominated Steve Faucette to serve as Vice-Chair; seconded by Mike Allen.

Robert Gorham nominated Debbie Rogers to serve as Vice-Chair; seconded by Jonelle Berky Marable.

With no other nominations forthcoming, Mike Allen moved to close nominations; seconded by Steve Faucette. The motion was approved by roll call vote 7-1.

Chair Ed Gleason: Yes Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: No

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

City Clerk/PIO Terry Hobgood and City Attorney Kevin Hornik conferred and advised the Planning Board that the vote for Vice-Chair should occur by roll call, with each member voicing their choice. Hornik confirmed that a written ballot would not be permitted due to one member of the Planning Board attending by electronic means, therefore making this a remote meeting pursuant to NCGS 143-318.13 (b).

City Clerk/PIO Terry Hobgood conducted a roll call vote for Vice-Chair by asking each member to voice their choice between Debbie Rogers and Steve Faucette.

Chair Ed Gleason: *Steve Faucette* Mike Allen: *Steve Faucette*

Steve Faucette: Steve Faucette Robert Gorham: Debbie Rogers Dennis Lester: Steve Faucette

Jonelle Berky Marable: Debbie Rogers

Debbie Rogers: *Debbie Rogers* Heather Turner: *Debbie Rogers*

City Clerk/PIO Terry Hobgood reported that the result of the vote was four votes for each nomination. Hobgood consulted with City Attorney Kevin Hornik and after a review of the Planning Board bylaws, it was confirmed that the Planning Board bylaws did not have a tiebreak procedure. Hobgood and Hornik determined that the typical result of a tie vote by the Planning Board would be the failure of the motion. However, this would result in there being no Vice-Chair unless a member was willing to change their vote or one of the nominees withdrew.

Debbie Rogers moved to table the vote on Planning Board Vice-Chair until the July 8, 2021 meeting so that the Board of Commissioners and City Attorney's office could guide as to how to proceed; seconded by Heather Turner. The motion was approved by roll call vote 8-0.

Chair Ed Gleason: Yes Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: Yes

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

City Plan 2040

Community Development Director Michael Frangos introduced the Request for Qualifications (RFQ) process for the City Plan 2040, which will serve as the comprehensive planning document for Creedmoor. An RFQ was advertised to interested firms, and a selection committee following the upcoming deadline will judge all proposals. At that point, negotiations will begin in terms of scope of work and final cost to the City. Mr. Frangos gave an overview of the scoring process and stressed that the selection will be made on the merits of the proposal and the qualifications of the firm. The City's purchasing policy gives preference to firms that are classified as Minority Business Enterprise by the State or Federal government. The Board of Commissioners will establish a steering committee, which will likely include several Planning Board members.

Report on Recent Departmental Activity

Community Development Director Michael Frangos reported that Planner Kevin Murphy would begin employment with the City of Creedmoor on June 14. Mr. Frangos also reported that the Tar River Land Conservancy would hold a ribbon-cutting for new hiking trails on Roberts Chapel Rd. near Stem on Saturday, June 19.

Modify 2021 Meeting Schedule

Chair Ed Gleason moved to modify the 2021 meeting schedule by canceling the August 12, 2021, Planning Board meeting; seconded by Heather Turner. The motion was approved by roll call vote 8-0.

Chair Ed Gleason: Yes Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: Yes

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

Reports from the Chairperson and Members

Debbie Rogers noted the improvements to the CVS property on N. Main St. and thanked Code Enforcement Officer Gerard Seibert for his work. Ms. Rogers also asked for clarification on SGWASA allocation procedures. Mr. Frangos reported that SGWASA still provides very small-scale allocations for new construction in Creedmoor. Single-family homes typically comply with SGWASA's requirements, but large commercial allocations and/or residential developments could not be approved until SGWASA can increase its capacity.

Adjourn

Debbie Rogers moved to adjourn the meeting at 8:08 p.m.; seconded by Robert Gorham. The motion was approved by roll call vote 8-0.

Chair Ed Gleason: Yes Mike Allen: Yes Steve Faucette: Yes Robert Gorham: Yes Dennis Lester: Yes

Jonelle Berky Marable: Yes

Debbie Rogers: Yes Heather Turner: Yes

Minutes approved at the July 8, 2021 Planning Board Meeting.